It's important to understand that the files in your Portal have no tie or connection to the files on your machine. Once you upload a file to the Portal, it exists on its own.
As we mentioned before, you will organize your shared files into folders on the portal.
To enter a folder, click its name. You'll then see its files and subfolders. From here, you can drill down deeper by clicking on a subfolder's name.
As you do this, you will notice a bread crumb trail above the list of folders showing you where you're at. It lists each folder in a normal directory fashion.
To work your way back up from a subfolder, click the on the bread crumb trail. Clicking on any folder name will take you back up to that folder. Clicing Files at the start of the breat crumb trail will take you back to your main folder.
We strongly recommend that you have a separate folder for each client. Then, if you need to, you can create subfolders in each client's folders to further organize the shared files. For example, suppose that you work out complex estate plans for your clients. Any given plan may have dozens of documents for your clients to review, like Wills, Trusts, LLCs and Partnerships, Taxes, etc. So you might set up folders in your Portal that look like this:
No. Just create them as you need them.
You can rename folders and files. You'll notice that you can put a check mark next to any folder or file. When you do, some options will appear.
Click the button that looks like a pencil. This will allow you to change the name.
Important: Renaming a folder or file will not affect its sharing. In other words, renaming a folder or file will not prevent your guests from accessing it.
Deleting folders and files works the same way. Put a check mark next to the folder/file, then click the Delete button that appears.
Important: Deleting a folder will also delete all of the folder's contents – files and sub-folders – along with any shares associated with them. It will not delete the guests themselves, just their access to those folders and files.
No. Once a guest has downloaded a copy of a file, you have no control over that copy.