Last Reviewed:  July 8, 2019

Back Up and Restore Your Settings

Overview

All settings are contained in a single folder. No settings are kept in the Registry. This means that backing up and restoring your settings is a simple matter of copying/restoring the settings folder. Applies to all products. The way you back up and restore settings depends on which version of the software you're using.

IMPORTANT: Backing up your settings does not back up your cabinet contents. It only backs up your configuration and preferences. Please use at least one backup utility to back up your files!

Back Up Your Settings

To back up your settings, do the following:

  1. Go to the drop-arrow under the Help button > Support Options
  2. Click the Browse Settings button
  3. An Explorer window will open to your settings folder; minimize it for now
  4. Go back to Support Options
  5. Click Close All FileCenter Apps
  6. Go back to the Explorer window with your settings in it
  7. Copy all of the files and folders to your backup location – another folder, a thumb drive, a USB drive, a CD or DVD, etc.

Restore your settings

To restore your settings, do the following:

  1. Go to the drop-arrow under the Help button > Support Options
  2. Click the Browse Settings button
  3. An Explorer window will open to your settings folder; minimize it for now
  4. Go back to Support Options
  5. Click Close All FileCenter Apps
  6. Go back to the Explorer window with your settings in it
  7. Copy all of the files and folders from your backup location back into the settings folder, replacing the existing files

If there are any errors or problems, make sure that the backup files were from the same version of your program, and that they were restored to exactly the same location.